on sunny days [pretentious poem]

On cloudy days, I think of you.

They make me feel cheesy, lousy, blue.

But I always remember your dreams

And how you wanted to fly up high

And save the stars behind the gray.

On cloudy days, I miss you.

And if it rains, the day tastes like your tears

On top of my tongue

– dark, mysterious, unnamable.

On sunny days, I conjure you.

They make me feel empty, void, crude.

But I always remember your skin,

Your contours and frontiers,

And how you wanted to spare my heart

From all the errors it made.

On sunny days, I miss you.

And if I sing, it’s a tuneless song

Because you are the rhythm, the melody,

The poetry shaping my destiny.

But I am not your home.

2 thoughts on “on sunny days [pretentious poem]

Leave a Reply

